• $22.98

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 09/25/2020
Format: LP
Label: Alona's Dream Records – ADR 12 034
Release type: Blue Colored Vinyl LP Pressing.

Mid-1980's suburban Chicago punk. 13 song LP includes the band's hard to find 7" alongside unreleased studio tracks, demos & live cuts. Naperville's Protagonists formed in the wake of the first wave of Chicago hardcore punk. Instead of being inspired by the first generation weirdo Chicago punks like Silver Abuse and Tutu & The Pirates or the hardcore legion that followed (AOF, ROTA, Negative Element, etc.), Protagonists drew their motivation from sources as diverse as punk icons Buzzcocks, The Dickies and The Damned to prime era 50's and 60's teen anthems (Buddy Holly, Dell Shannon, and The Monkees). This compilation gathers their original tape, unheard outside of the suburban Chicago teen punk scene, and pairs it with the songs from their hard-to-find 7" EP (originally pressed in 1000 copies in 1985). The b-side features basement demos of original songs recorded by the band as well some great covers which show they could rock as a punk dance band.

  1. Hard On Me
  2. Killer Fishsticks
  3. Float
  4. Dancing Tonight
  5. So Alone
  6. Another Monday
  7. Hard On Me (Single Version)
  8. Jimmy
  9. Kirsty Q
  10. I Just Can't Be Happy Today
  11. Something's Wrong With You
  12. Saturday Night
  13. Wish That It Was Me

    We Also Recommend