Porcupine Tree

Porcupine Tree

The Incident (Reissue)

  • $29.98

Only 3 left!

Release Date: 09/24/2021
2 X LP
Release type: Reissue Vinyl LP Pressing

The concept for The Incident (the band's much lauded 10th and most recent studio album from 2009) emerged as Porcupine Tree's creator Steven Wilson was caught in a motorway traffic jam whilst driving past a road accident. "There was a sign saying 'POLICE - INCIDENT' and everyone was slowing down to see what had happened... Afterwards, it struck me that 'incident' is a very detached word for something so destructive and traumatic for the people involved. The irony of such a cold expression for such seismic events appealed to me, and I began to pick out other 'incidents' reported in the media and news, I wrote about the evacuation of teenage girls from a religious cult in Texas, a family terrorising its neighbors, a body found floating in a river by some people on a fishing trip, and more."

Consisting of 18 tracks, each song is written in the first person, attempting to humanize the detached media reportage of each associated event. The first 14 tracks form part of a 55-minute song cycle, with the last 4 having been recorded later (and originally released as a second disc to stress their independence from the song cycle).

  1. Occam's Razor
  2. The Blind House
  3. Great Expectations
  4. Kneel And Disconnect
  5. Drawing The Line
  6. The Incident
  7. Your Unpleasant Family
  8. The Yellow Windows Of The Evening Train
  9. Time Flies
  10. Degree Zero Of Liberty
  11. Octane Twisted
  12. The Seance
  13. Circle Of Manias
  14. I Drive The Hearse
  15. Flicker
  16. Bonnie The Cat
  17. Black Dahlia
  18. Remember Me Lover

              We Also Recommend