Nickel Creek

Nickel Creek

Live From The Fox Theater

  • $32.98

Only 4 left!

Release Date: 07/02/2021
Format: 2 X LP
Label: Nickel Creek Inc.
Release type: Double Vinyl LP Pressing

The first ever live album from Grammy-winning band, Nickel Creek, recorded at Fox Theater in Oakland, CA during the band's 2014 tour behind 'A Dotted Line' Nickel Creek is the Grammy Award winning roots-music trio of violinist Sara Watkins, mandolinist Chris Thile, and guitarist Sean Watkins. After the close of their Farewell (For Now) tour in 2007, which culminated at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Nickel Creek was not actually contemplating a break-up, as many in its large fan-base feared. The still startlingly young band-mates simply needed some time to grow up, musically and personally, away from the glare of the spotlight they'd shared since they were kids. Sara and Chris were merely eight years old when they and the 12 year-old Sean played their first gig as Nickel Creek at a San Diego pizza parlor, having been brought together by a mutual music teacher. Chris's dad played bass. After ten years of work on the contemporary bluegrass circuit, the prodigious trio landed a deal with the independent Sugar Hill Records, championed by violinist Alison Krauss, who would produce Nickel Creek's first two Sugar Hill releases, its self-titled 2000 debut, and the 2002 follow-up This Side, which garnered a Best Contemporary Folk Album Grammy. Nickel Creek's third studio album, 2005's Why Should the Fire Die?, was a more ambitious effort, prefiguring the expansive solo work to come individually from these musicians. It was produced in part by Eric Valentine, whose credits in punk, alt rock, and pop made him the least likely but somehow just right candidate for the job. In 2014, Nickel Creek released their most recent album, A Dotted Line, their second with Eric Valentine and embarked on a sold out 25th Anniversary Tour. More recently, Chris Thile was the host of Live From Here (formerly A Prairie Home Companion) in addition to releasing records with Punch Brothers, including the Grammy-winning, All Ashore, among other releases with YoY o Ma, Edgar Meyer and Brad Mehldau. Sara Watkins released her third solo effort, Young In All The Wrong Ways, in 2016 and formed a new band, I'm With Her, with Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O Donovan who released their debut album, See You Around in early 2018 later winning an American Roots Grammy in 2020 for their song, Call My Name. Sean Watkins has been working on a multitude of projects in LA in the TV and film world, including the Netfilx series, Sweet Magnolias, in addition to releasing his latest project, This Is Who We Are, with the Northern California trio, The Bee Easters, in early 2020.

  1. Rest Of My Life
  2. Scotch & Chocolate
  3. This Side
  4. Destination
  5. Jealous Of The Moon
  6. Smoothie Song
  7. Reasons Why
  8. 21st Of May
  9. When In Rome
  10. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  11. Ode To A Butterfly
  12. You Don't Know What's Going On
  13. Somebody More Like You
  14. The Lighthouse's Tale
  15. Anthony
  16. Elephant In The Corn
  17. When You Come Back Down
  18. Hayloft
  19. The Fox
  20. Helena
  21. Cuckoo's Nest
  22. Where Is Love Now

    We Also Recommend