Matthew Sweet

Matthew Sweet

Altered Beast (Expanded Edition) (180 Gram All-Analog Mastering)

  • $44.98

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 09/14/2018
Format: 2 X LP
Label: Intervention Records – IR-011, Zoo Entertainment, Sony Music
Release type: Expanded Edition 180 Gram All-Analog Mastering Double Vinyl LP Pressing

Limited double 180gm vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket. Includes bonus tracks. The middle entry in Matthew Sweet's holy '90s power pop trilogy, Altered Beast is a sprawling, multi-dimensional power-pop trip finally presented at it's artistic fullest. Sweet was a songwriting machine in this period, and in doing source research a third analog master reel with 6 extra tracks was discovered. Intervention's expanded edition is a 21-track Beast that shows a master songwriter at his prolific best. While many of these extra tracks were used as b-sides on CD singles and saw release on other compilations, Intervention's expanded edition places these songs in the context they belong, with the album for which they were recorded. Hearing the quality of tracks like 'Superdeformed' one wonders how Altered Beast wasn't originally a double LP! The original 1990's LP crammed all 56 minutes of the original repertoire onto two LP sides, forcing dramatically lower levels, much softer dynamics and less expressive bass. Intervention's cut expands the original repertoire over three vinyl sides, opening up the sound stage and for the very first time presenting this amazing recording will full bass extension and dynamic power! The result is the best-sounding Altered Beast that's ever been or ever will be! This is simply a fabulous-sounding rock recording that's big, bold and super fun to listen to. Altered Beast's album art was lovingly restored by Intervention's Art Director Tom Vadakan, and printed as a gorgeous 'Old Style' gatefold by Stoughton printing in LA. It's printed on heavy stock and film-laminated for superior color depth, beauty and durability. The center labels are printed by Dorado.

  1. Dinosaur Act 4:05
  2. Devil With The Green Eyes 4:43
  3. The Ugly Truth 3:18
  4. Time Capsule 3:56
  5. Someone To Pull The Trigger 3:55
  6. Knowing People 4:25
  7. Life Without You 2:18
  8. Intro 0:46
  9. Ugly Truth Rock 2:58
  10. Do It Again 3:33
  11. In Too Deep 3:54
  12. Reaching Out 4:00
  13. Falling 4:50
  14. What Do You Know? 4:27
  15. Evergreen 4:23
  16. Reaching Out 4:00
  17. Falling 4:50
  18. What Do You Know? 4:27
  19. Evergreen 4:23
  20. Born In Sin 4:45
  21. Ultrasuede 3:56
  22. Superdeformed 3:53
  23. Speed Of Light 5:05
  24. Thing 3:17
  25. Bovine Connection 1:42

        We Also Recommend