Marianne Faithfull

Before The Poison (Clear)

  • $23.98

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 06/30/2023
Format: LP
Label: Naive
Release type: Reissued Clear Vinyl LP Pressing.

Before the Poison is an album that concerns itself with both sides of love, friendship, and redemption, not desolation or desperation. That said, there is plenty of human shadow in these ten songs. PJ Harvey wrote three songs here, co-wrote a pair with Faithfull, and is present on all of them. Nick Cave co-wrote three with the singer and his Bad Seeds back her on these tracks. She also co-wrote one a piece with Blur's Damon Albarn and composer Jon Brion. Along with Harvey and Cave, Rob Ellis and Hal Willner aided in production. Therefore, Before the Poison, like it's predecessor, Kissin' Time, is an album of collaborations. But unlike that offering, this one is seamless; it's songs are sequenced impeccably and all feel of a piece linked by emotional thematics.

Before the Poison is poetic and unnerving; it stands alone in her catalog in the same way that Broken English did - but this time, on the other side of the mirror. This reissue is a special one with a clear colored vinyl edition.

  1. The Mystery of Love
  2. My Friends Have
  3. Crazy Love
  4. Last Song
  5. No Child of Mine
  6. Before the Poison
  7. There Is a Ghost
  8. In the Factory
  9. Desperanto
  10. City of Quartz

                      We Also Recommend