Lady Dan

Lady Dan

I Am The Prophet (Red)

  • $25.98

Only 2 left!

Release Date: 04/30/2021
 Earth Libraries
Release type:
 Red Wine Spill Shaped Vinyl LP Pressing

There's a paradoxically perfect union between a broken heart and cowboy twang. Tyler Dozier's songs as Lady Dan tap even deeper into that sublime intersection where searing pain can reach sublime heights. Her own tale of hurt comes complete with multilayered existential quandaries, of empowerment and restriction, of life and death, of faith and its absence. On her debut album I Am the Prophet April 23rd 2021 via Earth Libraries, the Austin-based musician weaves intensely personal storytelling, poetic imagery, biblical allusion, immaculate arrangements, and crackling songwriting into an irresistible melancholic melange. "Dozier's vocal morphs from hushed, spoken word to bounding bursts of visceral angst. This is intensely personal songwriting, and every passing lyric reveals another layer in Dozier's narration, as they empathetically coax us into her world." The Line Of Best Fit
"Lady Dan sets her own course on liberating new single I Am The Prophet Dozier puts herself first on this track. Not only is the arrangement an exhibition of her mastery over tension and release, but her lyrics represent an artist's exploration of self-identity and independence." Sterogum
Musically, I Am The Prophet is a ruminative indie track with hints of arid country stylings. And each time Dozier hits the climactic reading of the title in the chorus, it's appropriately resounding.
  1. Paradox
  2. Dogs
  3. Better Off Alone
  4. Plagiarist's Blues
  5. I Am The Prophet
  6. Intro To Loss
  7. No Home
  8. Misandrist To Most
  9. The Boys Who Can't Sit Still
  10. Drink Your Sorrows
  11. Left-Handed Love

              We Also Recommend