John Frusciante

Maya (Indie Exclusive Purple Lilac)

  • $27.98

Only 3 left!

Release Date: 02/26/2021
Format: LP
Label: Timesig
Release type: Indie Exclusive Purple Lilac Vinyl LP Pressing

John Frusciante releases the first instrumental electronic album under his own name on Aaron Funk's Timesig label. The record is dedicated to his cat Maya who recently passed away, a fellow traveller in his otherwise solitary music making sessions. 'Maya' is inspired by John's favourite music: '91 to'96 UK breakbeat hardcore and jungle. It’s a varied and personal take with sophisticated, authentic production balanced against John’s acute sense of melody, an inspired blending of machines and samples infused with a joyful energy. "I don't have that interest in singing or writing lyrics like I used to. The natural thing when I'm by myself now, is to just make music like the stuff being released this year. I really love the back and forth with machines and the computer." The fun he’s having on 'Maya' is infectious.

  1. Brand E 4:51
  2. Usbrup Pensul 4:23
  3. Flying 3:42
  4. Pleasure Explanation 4:14
  5. Blind Aim 4:06
  6. Reach Out 4:22
  7. Amethblowl 4:39
  8. Zillion 4:34
  9. Anja Motherless 5:56

We Also Recommend