John Doe

Fable In A Foreign Land (Indie Exclusive Black with Gold Swirl)

  • $22.98

Only 2 left!

Release Date: 05/20/2022
Format: LP
 Fat Possum
Release type:
 Indie Exclusive Black with Gold Swirl Vinyl LP Pressing.

2022 release. Punk rock pioneer with X, songwriter, poet, actor, solo artist, published author... folk musician. With Fables in a Foreign Land, the debut release from The John Doe Folk Trio, his tales are now set in the pre-Industrial Era. And though many of the 13 songs were written over the last three years, the sound was born in loose weekly backyard jams on Kevin Smith's (Willie Nelson and Family) patio. "I guess 'Fables in a Foreign Land' is my version of folk music. It started by being sick of musicians that play too much and having to orchestrate or arrange songs. 'What if it was just less?' Everyone says less is more, but you have to figure out for yourself what that means. I didn't do a deep dive into folk music and concern myself with what was 'traditional,' it was just an outgrowth of trying to strip the songs down to the basics." Singles include contributions from outsider country polymath Terry Allen on "Never Coming Back," Los Lobos' Louie Perez on "El Romance-O," and fellow X bandmate Exene Cervenka and Shirley Manson (Garbage) on "Destroying Angels."
      1. Never Coming Back
      2. Down South
      3. See the Almighty
      4. Guilty Bystander
      5. There's a Black Horse
      6. El Romance-0
      7. Missouri
      8. The Cowboy and the Hot Air Balloon
      9. After the Fall
      10. Destroying Angels
      11. Travelin' So Hard
      12. Sweetheart
      13. Where the Songbirds Live

              We Also Recommend