Joe Wong

Joe Wong

Nite Creatures (Indie Exclusive)

  • $29.98

Only 4 left!

Release Date: 11/27/2020
 Decca France
Release type:
 Indie Exclusive Cream Vinyl LP Pressing

Nite Creatures is the debut album from polyrhythmic polymath Joe Wong, the composer behind sensations Russian Doll, The Midnight Gospel, Master of None, and Awkwafina is Nora from Queens. The lush, deeply personal album marks the first time the Milwaukee-born, Los Angeles-based musician's total and unfiltered creative vision has been on display, a bold exploration of life and loss abetted by Mary Timony (Ex Hex, Helium), Steven Drozd (Flaming Lips), Jon Natchez (The War On Drugs), harpist Mary Lattimore, Craig Wedren (Shudder to Think), Anna Waronker (That Dog), and a 24-piece orchestra. The album was mixed by sonic genius Dave Fridmann (Tame Impala, The Flaming Lips, MGMT) and mastered by Bob Weston. Nite Creatures a collection of 10 baroque, ruminative, gently psychedelic songs lives in the pops and crackles between the Summer of Love and start of the Seventies the acid-tinged era of Scott Walker, Love, the Zombies and Fairport Convention. Though technically his first LP, Wong's melodies, beats and insight have already conquered multiple platforms. While launching his fruitful career as one of the go-to composers of the streaming TV era, he was the drummer anchoring the Mary Timony Band, Marnie Stern, and Brooklyn noise-punks Parts & Labor. As an esteemed podcaster, he created the world's most popular drumming podcast, The Trap Set. Wong is quick to note that his career as a film composer, accompanist and interviewer prepared him for his solo bid. Tracks from the album have already received strong radio support from flagship stations such as KCRW (Multiple "Morning Becomes Eclectic" Spins) and NPR--Joe Wong was featured introducing his song, "Dreams Wash Away", which was played twice by Bob Boilen on All Songs Considered. "Dreams Wash Away", the first song on the album was featured prominently on the hit Netflix series, The Midnight Gospel. Netflix produced and promoted a music video for the song, which has been viewed over one million times on YouTube. Because Joe Wong is a prominent tv/film composer, we're uniquely positioned to procure more syncs and visibility for the album. Video for "Nite Creatures" directed by Fred Armisen to be released; Double Video for "Minor" and "Nuclear Rainbow" directed by Sam Macon to be released. Joe Wong fully available to help create promotional content for stores--including interviews, Top 10 Lists, social media partnerships, "What's In My Bag"-style videos, virtual in-stores, etc. Joe also hosts the popular music podcast, The Trap Set, wherein he'll promote the album to his 20k+ listeners.
          1) Dreams Wash Away
          2) Sleeping
          3) Day After Day
          4) Nite Creatures
          5) Always Alone
          6) In the Morning
          7) Minor
          8) Nuclear Rainbow
          9) The Long Parade
          10) Shadow of the Year

            We Also Recommend