Dawn Richard

Second Line (White Splatter In Clear)

  • $39.98

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 04/30/2021
Format: LP
Label: Merge Records – MRG 756
Release type: Numbered Vinyl Me, Please. Exclusive White Splatter In Clear Colored Vinyl LP Pressing.

**Numbered 411/500**

Much like Dawn Richard, the New Orleans–born artist who created it, Second Line is an unapologetic genre bender that pushes boundaries, expands possibilities, and shatters expectations. It’s more than just an album: Second Line is a cohesive sensory experience that questions traditional ideas of sound, production, and visual aesthetics as they relate to music.

Its interlocking parts tell an epic story about the quest for artistic expression, with Dawn describing her project as “a movement to bring pioneering Black women in electronic music to the forefront.”She elaborates further: “You never see women appreciated as producers and artists alike—especially Black women in the electronic space. The time is now for us to start recognizing their talent, not only in electronic music but in all genres. I wanna be the reason why a young Black girl from the South can be whoever she wants to be musically, visually, and artistically.”

1. King Creole (Intro)
2. Nostalgia
3. Boomerang
4. Bussifame
5. Pressure
6. Pilot (a lude)
7. Jacuzzi
8. FiveOhFour (a lude)
9. Voodoo (Intermission)
10. Mornin | Streetlights
11. Le Petit Morte (a lude)
12. Radio Free
13. The Potter
14. Perfect Storm

We Also Recommend