Carson McHone

Still Life (Peak Vinyl)

  • $18.98

Only 3 left!

Release Date: 02/25/2022
Format: LP
 Merge Records
Release type:
 Peak Vinyl Exclusive Purple Colored Vinyl LP Pressing.

The songs of Still Life were written in quiet moments between tours and recorded away from Texas in Ontario with Canadian musician and producer Daniel Romano. McHone says of the session, “Daniel is a perceptive player, and his response was intuitive and organic. We attacked these songs as a blank canvas." Together in a home studio they cut almost the entire record themselves, calling on two friends, the versatile Mark Lalama on accordion, piano, and organ, and David Nardi (Daniel Romano's Outfit) with some savvy saxophone, to round it out. The end result is a sharp pastiche of modern & classic Americana sounds indebted to the graceful twangs of artists like Emmylou Harris or Magnolia Electric Company, with similar 21st century sensibilities of folks like Margo Price or Lydia Loveless.
  1. Hawks Don’t Share
  2. Still Life
  3. Fingernail Moon
  4. Someone Else
  5. Spoil on the Vine
  6. Sweet Magnolia
  7. Only Lovers
  8. End of the World
  9. Trim the Rose
  10. Folk Song
  11. Tried

                      We Also Recommend