Bob James

Bob James

One (Numbered) (2021 Remaster) (Indie Exclusive Yellow)

  • $32.98

Only 2 left!

Release Date: 08/13/2021
Format: LP
Release type: Numbered Indie Exclusive Transparent Yellow Vinyl LP Pressing. Limited to 1000 copies.


First released in 1974, One is the second solo album by jazz keyboardist Bob James. Bob enlisted a string of experienced Jazz players including Steve Gadd and Idris Muhammad on drums, Grover Washington on Sax and Gary King on bass. Led by the maestro himself on keyboards, One is a lush, experimental Jazz Funk record, excitingly hovering at the forefront of where music can take your soul. Produced by Creed Taylor and recorded at the famous Van Gelder Studios, the record is a monument of progressive musical greatness. It was an important album in the early smooth jazz genre and is famous for it's end track, 'Nautilus' which became important to hip-hop as one of the most sampled tracks in American music. In the 47 years since the release of One, producers have interpolated or sampled 'Nautilus' over 350 times. This is a brilliantly written and performed genre- defying set of superb tracks. 'In The Garden' and 'Night on Bald Mountain' are wonderful adaptations of two very different pieces of classical music - totally engaging for anyone who appreciates complex arrangements made funky and jazzy and played with consummate musicianship. 'Soulero' is a wonderful bolero-style piece, building layers of beautiful tones and rhythms.

evosound is remastering the album using hi-resolution digital transfers from the original analogue master tapes and will be manufactured on high quality 180 gram Limited Numbered Transparent Yellow Vinyl. Mason) is a lightly sauteed jazz offering, low-key and relaxed, bringing a sublime sense of form and interplay to the contemporary jazz genre. Vocals this time feature Phil Collins, Nathan East, Patti Austin and Peabo Bryson (the latter two on a smooth version of The Closer I Get to You). Phil Collins adds his special touch on the vocals of the track that he wrote, Why Can 't It Wait Till Morning, a poignant and beautiful song. Tracks in this album are a good mixture of upbeat and reflective. Ritenour's flexible guitar playing is one of the gems of the album, and this is the last album with him in the team. Elixir was the third gold album from Fourplay and it reached the number one position on Billboard's contemporary jazz chart and remained on the chart for more than 90 weeks.

  1. Elixir
  2. Dream Come True
  3. Play Lady Play
  4. Why Can't Wait Till Morning
  5. Magic Carpet Ride
  6. Whisper in My Ear
  7. Fannie Mae
  8. The Closer I Get to You
  9. East 2 West
  10. Licorice

    We Also Recommend