The Beloved

The Beloved


  • $24.98

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 09/11/2020
Format: 2 X LP
Label: New State Music – NEW9239LP
Release type: Reissued/Remsatered 180 Gram Double Vinyl LP Pressing

Happiness was recorded from late 1988 to summer 1989, influenced by the band's immersion in the nascent UK Acid House scene. Originally a four-piece guitar/synth band, The Beloved MK1 parted ways late 1987 and founder members Jon Marsh and Steve Waddington were newly liberated by their electronic, machine-driven rhythm section. The perfect synchronicity of the Balearic stylings of the underground clubs and exposure to early Chicago House corresponded with a burst in songwriting and sonic adventure. The result: Happiness!

Recorded mostly with producer Martyn Phillips (who subsequently worked with Erasure, Jesus Jones, & Londonbeat) the band created a hybrid of British electronic pop music, US club beats, euphoric mood and consistently optimistic and uplifting lyrics.

  1. Hello 4:19
  2. Your Love Takes Me Higher 3:39
  3. Time After Time 4:12
  4. Don't You Worry 3:50
  5. Scarlet Beautiful 4:40
  6. The Sun Rising 5:04
  7. I Love You More 3:56
  8. Wake Up Soon 5:02
  9. Up, Up And Away 6:01
  10. Found 4:24

      We Also Recommend