Zola Jesus

Zola Jesus

Okovi (Sacred Bones 15th Anniversary) (Clear & Black Splatter)

  • $19.98

Only 2 left!

Release Date: 06/17/2022
Format: LP
Label: Sacred Bones
Release type: 15th Anniversary Edition Clear & Black Splatter Colored Vinyl LP Pressing

Limited translucent blue colored vinyl LP pressing. For over a decade, Nika Roza Danilova has been recording music as Zola Jesus. She's been on Sacred Bones Records for most of that time, and Okovi marks her reunion with the label. Fittingly, the 11 electronics-driven songs on Okovi share musical DNA with her early work on Sacred Bones. The music was written in pure catharsis, and as a result, the sonics are heavy, dark, and exploratory. In addition to the contributions of Danilova's longtime live bandmate Alex DeGroot, producer/musician WIFE, cellist/noise-maker Shannon Kennedy from Pedestrian Deposit, and percussionist Ted Byrnes all helped build Okovi's textural universe. With Okovi, Zola Jesus has crafted a profound meditation on loss and reconciliation that stands tall alongside the major works of it's genre. The album speaks of tragedy with great wisdom and clarity. It's songs plumb dark depths, but they reflect light as well.

1 Doma
2 Exhumed
3 Soak
4 Ash to Bone
5 Witness
6 Siphon
7 Veka
8 Wiseblood
9 Nmo
10 Remains
11 Half Life

    We Also Recommend