The Modern Jazz Quartet

The Modern Jazz Quartet

Django (180 Gram)

  • $19.98

Only 2 left!

Release Date: 09/21/2018
 Jazz Images
Release type:
180 Gram Vinyl LP Release. 

180 Pure Virging Vinyl LPs in Gatefold Packaging. Django contains some of the earliest sides that the first edition of The Modern Jazz Quartet (consisting of Milt Jackson, John Lewis, Percy Heath, and Kenny Clarke) recorded for Prestige Records. Initially, the combo was part of Dizzy Gillespie's influential backing band and after a change in drummers (to Connie Kay), they continued as one of the most sophisticated exponents of the post-bop era. The album presents the first version of Lewis' classic ballad "Django", which would become a standard. The tune was dedicated to the memory of the extraordinary guitarist Django Reinhardt, who had unexpectedly died in 1953.

  1. Django
  2. One Bass Hit
  3. La Ronde Suite
  4. Delaunay's Dilemma
  5. Autumn In New York
  6. The Queen's Fancy
  7. But Not For Me
  8. Milano

We Also Recommend