The Mighty Sparrow

The Mighty Sparrow

The Slave (Colored)

  • $24.98

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 07/26/2019
Format: LP
Label: Modern Harmonic
Release type: Red Vinyl LP Pressing

Bob Marley has been quoted as saying “When I heard Mighty Sparrow sing 'The Slave,' I knew what I wanted to do with my music.” The prolific and incendiary Sparrow creates calypso sounds so mighty that they’ve won him multiple titles of Calypso King in his native Trinidad. Recorded almost immediately after cessation of his RCA contract, this first-ever reissue of his 1963 National Record Company album is filled with Sparrow’s iconic singing style, wit, and (at times) scathing and provocative lyrics, including the salty tale of a “Stupid Married Man” and the topical tune of “Kennedy & Khrushchev”!

This is the first ever LP reissue of the iconic debut of Sparrow’s own National Recording Company. Sparrow (aka Slinger Francisco) has won Trinidad's Carnival Road March competition eight times, Calypso King/Monarch eight times, and has twice won the Calypso King of Kings title.

The Mighty Sparrow has a few select US dates planned around release date! Right around his 84th birthday!

• First-ever LP reissue of this massively influential album!

• Cut at Cohearant Audio by Kevin Gray and pressed on red vinyl at Third Man Pressing Detroit!

1 Harry, Elaine and Mama
2 Stupid Married Man
3 Kennedy and Khruschev
4 Jemma on the Ferris Wheel
5 Popularity Contest
6 The Slave
7 Calypso Twist
8 The Old Man and the Donkey
9 Unhappy Me
10 Corbeau Sheltering Rain

We Also Recommend