The Carolina Chocolate Drops

The Carolina Chocolate Drops

Leaving Eden

  • $24.98

Only 2 left!

Release Date: 03/20/2012
Format: LP
Label: Nonesuch
Release type: Vinyl LP Pressing

2012 release from the old time string band. Leaving Eden was produced by Nashville stalwart Buddy Miller, the go-to guy for artists ranging from Solomon Burke to Robert Plant to Emmylou Harris. On this 15-song collection, recorded live in the studio with all the players in a single room, The Carolina Chocolate Drops illustrate their own adaptability to grow and change. Following the amicable departure of founding member Justin Robinson, band mates Rhiannon Giddens and Dom Flemons recruited three exceptional new players for the recording and expanded their repertoire to incorporate more overt Blues and Jazz elements and straight-up Folk balladry alongside brilliantly rendered string-band tunes.

  1. Riro's House
  2. Kerr's Negro Jig
  3. Ruby, Are You Mad at Your Man?
  4. Boodle-De-Bum-Bum
  5. Country Girl
  6. Run Mountain
  7. Leaving Eden
  8. Read 'Em John
  9. Mahalla
  10. West End Blues
  11. Po' Black Sheep
  12. I Truly Understand That You Love Another Man
  13. No Man's Mama
  14. Briggs' Corn Shucking Jig / Camptown Hornpipe
  15. Pretty Bird

We Also Recommend