Martin Frawley

Martin Frawley

Undone At 31 (Indie Exclusive)

  • $10.00

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 02/22/2019
Format: LP
Label: Merge Records
Release type:  Indie Exclusive Blue And White Marble Vinyl LP Release

Named for the year in his life when the bottom fell out following a long-term romantic partnership, Martin Frawley sequenced Undone at 31 chronologically to emphasize his journey. Those familiar with his time as co-leader of Melbourne's Twerps will take comfort in hearing his deceptively simple songwriting is still intact, but the big reveal here is how new instrumentation and influences seamlessly expand his playground. It might take several listens for one to realize Frawley is singing "Something About Me" over just violin, Moog, and a Graceland-esque bassline, or to appreciate the PB+J pairing of Fender Rhodes and lap steel on "Where the Heart Is," which serves as Undone at 31's twist ending. Frawley's album does not shy away from morbid musings and raw emotions that come with a breakup, and like Shoot Out the Lights or Sea Change, Undone at 31's tunefulness and exploration combined are what elevate the music above the melancholy subject matter.

  1. You Want Me?
  2. End of the Bar
  3. What's on Your Mind
  4. Just Like the Rest
  5. Smoke in Your House
  6. Chain Reaction
  7. You Can't Win
  8. Something About Me
  9. Lo and Behold
  10. Come Home
  11. Where the Heart Is

We Also Recommend