Marianne Faithfull

Easy Come Easy Go (White)

  • $32.98

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 06/30/2023
Format: 2 X LP
Label: Naive
Release type: Reissued White Colored Double Vinyl LP Pressing.

Songstress Marianne Faithfull last collaborated with producer Hal Willner on her iconic Strange Weather album in 1987 and the match also feels effortless and natural here. Like Strange Weather, Easy Come Easy Go is a covers collection, featuring Faithfull in different musical settings and interpreting the songs of everyone from Merle Haggard to Smokey Robinson to Duke Ellington to Randy Newman to the Decemberists to Morrissey with a killer guest list including Antony Hegarty, Rufus Wainwright, Teddy Thompson, Kate & Anna McGarrigle, Jarvis Cocker, Jenni Muldaur, Sean Lennon, Warren Ellis, Nick Cave, and Keith Richards. The core band on this set includes old friends like Marc Ribot and Greg Cohen as well as drummer Jim White, Rob Burger, Doug Weiselman, Steve Weisberg, Barry Reynolds, Steven Bernstein, Marty Ehrlich, and Lenny Pickett.

The sense of stylistic sprawl on these 12 songs is incredible. For example, the album opener, a cover of Dolly Parton's "Down from Dover," features the full band and guests numbering 18 strong! Faithfull's trademark deep-throated, whiskey-and-cigarettes-ravaged voice shows up in excellent form and take you on journeys through love, lust, tragedy, and longing and bring you home again. This reissue is a special one with a white colored vinyl edition.

  1. Down from Dover
  2. Hold on Hold on
  3. Solitude
  4. The Crane Wife 3
  5. Easy Come, Easy Go
  6. Ooh Baby Baby
  7. Kimbie
  8. Children of Stone
  9. The Phoenix
  10. In Germany Before the War
  11. Dear God Please Help Me
  12. Salvation
  13. Somewhere (A Place for Us)
  14. Many a Mile to Freedom
  15. Black Coffee
  16. Flandyke Shore
  17. How Many Worlds
  18. Sing Me Back Home

                      We Also Recommend