Lula Reed

Lula Reed

Blue And Moody (180 Gram)

  • $10.00

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 02/18/2014
Format: LP
Label: Sundazed Music – LP 5428
Release type: Reissued 180 Gram Vinyl LP Pressing

Pressed at R.T.I. An arresting, singular chanteuse, Lula Reed beat out 50 other contestants in an audition for Sonny Thompson’s band at the Toledo Auditorium. Following her victory, 22-year old Reed trekked down to Cincinnati with future husband Thompson to record for Sid Nathan’s King Records. These sessions yielded two Billboard Top Ten R&B singles, “Let’s Call It a Day” (#7) and “I’ll Drown in My Tears” (#5). These songs plus ten more smokin’ sides are collected on Blue and Moody (1958), Reed’s one and only solo album. Long out of print, this LP has become a holy grail for blues and R&B enthusiasts, who routinely pay princely sums for the few copies in circulation. Once again, it’s Sundazed to the rescue! Painstakingly mastered from the original analog session tapes and pressed at R.T.I., Sundazed presents this extremely rare LP on pristine 

  1. Watch Dog
  2. I'll Drown In My Tears
  3. Going Back To Mexico
  4. Three Men
  5. Sample Man
  6. Last Night
  7. Rock Love
  8. Let's Call It A Day
  9. Bump On A Log
  10. My Poor Heart
  11. Every Second
  12. Jealous Love

We Also Recommend