John Carpenter & Alan Howarth

They Live (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (RSD Essentials Black & White Galaxy)

  • $39.98

Only 2 left!

Release Date: 05/06/2022
 Death Waltz Recording Company / RSD Essentials
Release type:
 RSD Essentials Black And White Galaxy Colored Vinyl LP Pressing.

A classic story of one man fighting for the freedom of the world with a great science-fiction twist. This movie is full of amazing dialogue and also contains the greatest fistfight in the history of cinema. Like most of Carpenter’s films They Live has an urban-western feel to it which is emphasized by the infectious score.
Celebrated designer and artist Alan Hynes has crafted a spectacular collectible package for the soundtrack befitting the film’s theme of subliminal communication utilizing the iconic sunglasses to reveal hidden messages as you pull the disc sleeve from the slipcase.
Carpenter and Howarth’s main theme conjures up images of a lone cowboy entering town with the main melody augmented with the sounds of harmonica and saxophone. There’s a carefree attitude that reflects Rowdy Roddy Piper’s character but the score takes on a more sinister tone when he realizes he doesn’t know anything about what’s really going on. Carpenter’s signature synth tones create an uncomfortable atmosphere but the main bassline is always fighting against them never giving up. Electric guitar is used fleetingly but brilliantly and the whole score embodies the kind of rebelling against authority Carpenter is famous for. They Live will rock your world without the need for a Brazilian plastic surgeon to put you back together again.
    1. John Carpenter, Alan Howarth – Prologue Broadcast
    2. John Carpenter – Coming To L.A.
    3. John Carpenter – A Message
    4. John Carpenter – The Siege Of Justiceville
    5. John Carpenter – Return To Church
    6. John Carpenter – All Out Of Bubble Gum
    7. John Carpenter – Back To The Street
    8. John Carpenter – Kidnapped
    9. John Carpenter – Transient Hotel
    10. John Carpenter – Underground
    11. John Carpenter – Wake Up

                          We Also Recommend