Various Artists

Various Artists

GROW: A Compilation in Solidarity with Black Lives Matter (Hand Poured)

  • $19.98

Release Date: 10/30/2020
Format: LP
Label: Fort Lowell Records
Release type: Hand Poured Random Assorted Colored Vinyl LP Pressing

THIS ALBUM IS A FUNDRAISER. All donations are welcomed. 100% of the sales from this record will be donated to the North Carolina New Hanover County NAACP.

Moved by the horrific Memorial Day murder of George Perry Floyd Jr. at the hands of four Minneapolis Police officers, Fort Lowell Records presents GROW: A Compilation in Solidarity with Black Lives Matter. The project, focused on Wilmington, North Carolina, is a response to the racial injustice continuously displayed by law enforcement across the United States of America. Friends of the formerly Tucson, Arizona-based label involved with GROW have donated their own talents to allow 100% of the sales from the record to endow the New Hanover County NAACP with working capital to help Fort Lowell’s newly adopted local community.  GROW is an effort to help address the dire effects of racism in America.

A personally curated collection of regional artists, GROW arranges a sampling of the vast indie rock flair exhibited within The Port City.  Both new and old, all embrace the alternative rock-n-roll sound that Fort Lowell Records promotes.  As a direct reply to current affairs, Tracy Shedd (Teen-Beat Records) -- once called the ‘Queen of Slowcore’ by Steve Leggett of -- poses the immediate question to the audience “Are you listening?” with her straightforward heartfelt opening track “Holding Space”.  Also finding a home on GROW is an unreleased radio remix of The Rosebuds’ hit single, “Get Up Get Out” -- from their album Night of the Furies (Merge Records, April 2007) -- by producer Mark Saunders (The Cure, Neneh Cherry, Erasure).  The tune, tailor-made for the mission of GROW but written in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, imagines an American future in which a popular uprising would not only be inevitable but necessary. Lyricist Kelly Crisp exhorts the "desperate crowds" to "get up, get out, and fill the streets... we need our friends everywhere."  Merge Records’ labelmates The Love Language were spurred by Fort Lowell Records’ invitation to hit the studio and document their previously written guitar-packed, power-pop anthem “Throwing Darts.”  Team Player closes out GROW with a British Invasion-like ballad “Wake For You”, written about loss, love, and perseverance.  It is sure to rouse all with lyrics like “The world ain’t coming back until I hear you sing.”

At its core, GROW is a collection of songs that Fort Lowell Records wanted to make available, because supplying the public with music is what they do.  However, they acknowledge the platform their company is fortunate to have.  Paired with Fort Lowell Records’ own desire to be an ally in the fight towards a more equitable society, their label affords them the opportunity to release GROW and enable their business partners, other advocates and patrons to exercise their own individual alliance with the Black Lives Matter movement and collectively create a positive impact towards justice.  

This is their voice.

  1. Tracy Shedd - Holding Space 02:59
  2. Life of Saturdays - That Kind Of Love 03:53
  3. Summer Set - Comfortable Town 03:22
  4. Neon Belly - The Boys Are Alright 02:18
  5. Pinky Verde - Come on Over 03:22
  6. Kicking Bird - What Would All The Other Girls Say (If They Knew What I Was Doing) 02:43
  7. The Love Language - Throwing Darts 02:19
  8. The Majestic Twelve - Amphibious Vehicular Love 03:22
  9. Sean Thomas Gerard - Strange & Electrifying 03:32
  10. Lauds - Don't Mind (GROW Remaster) 04:03
  11. The Rosebuds - Get Up Get Out (Mark Saunders Radio Remix) 03:47
  12. Team Player - Wake For You 03:57

    We Also Recommend