Calvin Johnson

Calvin Johnson

What Was Me

  • $10.00

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 03/13/2020
Format: LP
Label: K Records – KLP 117
Release type: Vinyl LP Pressing

The first of what promises to be many posthumous solo albums from Calvin Johnson, culled from the extensive archive of tapes left behind by the prolific songmaker and performer. Calvin Johnson made up songs about the feeling inside for over twenty years. What Was Me collects ten bits of lifeness and spreads them thickly with voice and acoustic guitar; a capella 40% of the time. There are patches that are worn and threadbare but the overall effect is gutty and moist. The affect is also noteworthy. Calvin is joined by the K divas Mirah on "Ode to St. Valentine" and Beth Ditto (the Gossip) on "Lightnin' Rod for Jesus".

1 Past Comes Back to Haunt Me
2 Can We Kiss?
3 Love Will Come Back Again
4 Ode to St. Valentine - Calvin Johnson
5 Palriga
6 Nothing to Hold Us Here
7 Warm Days
8 Lies Goodbye
9 Lightnin' Rod for Jesus - Calvin Johnson, Calvin Johnson
10 What Was Me

We Also Recommend