Bobbie Gillespie & Jehnny Beth

Bobbie Gillespie & Jehnny Beth

Utopian Ashes

  • $16.98

Only 3 left!

Release Date: 10/15/2021
 Third Man Records
Release type: Black Vinyl LP Pressing

Primal Scream frontman Bobby Gillespie has teamed up with solo artist and Savages vocalist Jehnny Beth to release the collaborative album Utopian Ashes.

Utopian Ashes explores the loss, miscommunication and emotional inarticulacy that a married couple experience as they realize that their relationship is breaking down. The collection draws on the tradition of country soul classics, such as Gram Parsons and Emmylou Harris’s "Grievous Angel" and George Jones and Tammy Wynette’s "We Go Together," to deal with the heavy realities of love turning sour. It’s an album for people who have dealt with the inevitable sadness that comes with age and acknowledged the realities of life. There is no sweetening of the pill, but it does achieve what should be the goal of all good art: to make us feel less alone. And while it’s not autobiographical, it channels heartfelt truth from the songwriters’ own experiences.

In addition to Bobby Gillespie and Jehnny Beth, the album features Johnny Hostile (bass) alongside Primal Scream trio Andrew Innes (guitar), Martin Duffy (piano) and Darrin Mooney (drums).

  1. Chase It Down
  2. English Town
  3. Remember We Were Lovers
  4. Your Heart Will Always Be Broken
  5. Stones Of Silence
  6. You Don’t Know What Love Is
  7. Self Crowned King Of Nothingness / You Can Trust Me Now
  8. Living A Lie
  9. Sunk In Reverie

                We Also Recommend