Boogie Down Productions

Criminal Minded (RSD Essentials Silver)

  • $25.98

Release Date: 07/15/2022 (Release dates are subject to change without notice)
B-Boy Records
Release type:
 RSD Essentials White Vinyl LP Pressing

BDP's first album--and the only one to include the late DJ Scott La Rock--sounded harder than hell when it came out in 1987. Though the simple beat-box patterns on a few tracks sound dated, most of La Rock's tracks are bluntly effective, especially the AC/DC riff he appropriates on "Dope Beat." And KRS-One still performs most of his Criminal Minded rhymes, because his audience knows them word for word: the ultraviolent dancehall of "9mm Goes Bang," the battle cry of "South Bronx" (and its counterpart, the anti-Juice Crew screed of "The Bridge Is Over," with its little Billy Joel homage), the catalog of La Rock's condom collection on "Super-Hoe." KRS bloomed later; here, he just rocked.

  1. Poetry 4:19
  2. South Bronx 4:31
  3. 9mm Goes Bang 4:10
  4. Word From Our Sponsor 4:25
  5. Elementary 4:26
  6. Dope Beat 4:13
  7. Remix For P Is Free 4:15
  8. The Bridge Is Over 4:21
  9. Super-Hoe 4:16
  10. Criminal Minded 4:26

We Also Recommend