Actually, You Can (Clear)

  • $8.98

Only 1 left!

Release Date: 10/22/2021
 Joyful Noise Recordings
Release type:
 Clear Cassette Tape

2021 release. Over eighteen boundless albums as experimental as they are pop, Deerhoof has continuously quested for daring storytelling and radical sounds, creating a new shared language of revolution. 2020's critically acclaimed, overwhelmingly prescient Future Teenage Cave Artists explored fairytale visions of post-apocalypse, welding intrinsic melodies with absurdist digital recording methods. It's immediate sequel Love-Lore, a live covers medley, channeled futurist mid-century artists-Parliament, Sun Ra and Stockhausen, to name a handful- into a patchwork love letter to the anti-authoritarian expressions that inspire the band. Galvanized, they landed on their next record's concept: This is Deerhoof's "baroque gone DIY" LP. "We wanted our own working person's version of highbrow, with all the operatic flourishes and twinkles and sparkles," says Saunier. Deerhoof set to scheming, using their agility, wit, and outlandishness to create this exuberant ode to unexpected growth. Actually, You Can is a genre-abundant record that uses technicolor vibrancy and arpeggiated muscularity to offer a vital shock from capitalism's purgatorial hold.

1 Be Unbarred, O Ye Gates Of Hell
2 Department Of Corrections
3 We Grew, And We Were Astonished
4 Scarcity Is Manufactured
5 Ancient Mysteries, Described
6 Plant Thief
7 Our Philosophy Is Fiction
8 Epic Love Poem
9 Divine Comedy

                        We Also Recommend