Animal Magic (Yellow Cassette)

  • $17.98

Only 2 left!

Release Date: 05/24/2024
Format: Cassette Tape
Label: Tru Thoughts - TRUCAS007
Release type: Yellow Cassette Tape Release

Bonobo aka Simon Green – now one of the biggest names in dance music – first emerged at the tail end of the 90s as one of downtempo’s brightest stars. Originally released at the turn of the millennium, Bonobo’s breakout debut album – ‘Animal Magic’ has become a timeless record and a cult favourite amongst fans.

Recorded on an Akai 4-track tape recorder, ‘Animal Magic’s’ lo-fi and warm aesthetic is pressed for the first time on limited edition yellow shell cassette with an O-card case, including unique artwork taken from the original CD. An essential collector's item for all Bonobo fans worldwide.

From the opening strains of ‘Sleepy Seven’ to the pensive closer ‘Silver’, ‘Animal Magic’ is filled with a deep emotional sensibility. ‘Terrapin’, one of the most compiled tracks on the album, is the record’s centrepiece, a hypnotic, delicate and emotive song formed around a single looped sitar. ‘Dinosaur’ goes for a slow, lumbering funk, buoyed by a trumpet that almost sounds like a brachiosaurus call, while ‘The Plug’ is laced in melancholy, producing an equally wondrous result.

‘Animal Magic’ is the output of Simon Green’s time in the creative seaside town of Brighton and marked an important milestone in his musical maturity. The city acted as a vital influence, allowing him to develop his drum programming and production skills while DJing relentlessly around the fertile hub.

  1. Intro    0:46
  2. Sleepy Seven    5:22
  3. Dinosaurs    4:01
  4. Kota    5:24
  5. Terrapin    4:39
  6. The Plug    5:18
  7. Shadowtricks    4:08
  8. Gypsy    3:38
  9. Sugar Rhyme    4:47
  10. Silver    6:33

We Also Recommend